top of page
  • Writer's pictureRBPlayer

C.R.E.A.M. - Wu-Tang Clan

Updated: May 11, 2018

Now, I'm from the East Coast (New York, to be exact), so I found it fitting that I would want to start my blog by reviewing a song by an artist from the East Coast. What better way to start than to look at one of the most famous songs ever, "C.R.E.A.M.", by the legendary Wu-Tang Clan? This group originated from Staten Island, and their first album, Enter The Wu-Tang (36 Chambers), is certified platinum by the RIAA (Recording Industry Association of America). C.R.E.A.M. was their first big hit. In this song, Wu-Tang members Raekwon the Chef and Inspectah Deck share the story of growing up poor, and how they were consumed by the will to acquire financial stability. The would have to do things they didn't want to do, but had do, due to the fact that they were poor and needed money to survive. In the first verse, Raekwon paints the picture of having to leave his father because he was a heroin addict, so he and his mother moved to Staten Island, which he refers to as "Shaolin land". As a teen, Raekwon was exposed to the lifestyle of the ghetto, as he states in the following lines:


"A young youth, yo rockin' the gold tooth, 'Lo goose Only way I be gettin' the G off was drug loot And let's start it like this, son Rollin' with this one and that one Pullin' out gats for fun But it was just a dream for the teen who was a fiend Started smokin' woolas at 16 And runnin' up in gates and doin' hits for high stakes Makin' my way on fire escapes No question I would speed for cracks and weed The combination made my eyes bleed"

Raekwon shows how as a youth, he was exposed to the lifestyle of doing and selling drugs. He also talks about how he had to keep a gun on him at all times, as to not get stuck up, or worse, shot and killed without a chance to defend himself.


In the second verse, Inspectah Deck speaks from the point of view of a young adult. He describes how he was struggling to survive, starting from as young as fifteen years old. This verse is also very insightful to events that have actually occurred in his life.


"It's been twenty-two long hard years, I'm still strugglin' Survival got me buggin', but I'm alive on arrival I peep at the shape of the streets And stay awake to the ways of the world 'cause shit is deep A man with a dream with plans to make cream Which failed; I went to jail at the age of fifteen A young buck sellin' drugs and such, who never had much Tryin' to get a clutch at what I could not The court played me short, now I face incarceration Pacin', goin' upstate's my destination Handcuffed in the back of a bus, forty of us Life as a shorty shouldn't be so rough"

He also speaks about how the streets in his neighborhood.

Who explained workin' hard may help you maintain To learn to overcome the heartaches and pain We got stick-up kids, corrupt cops, and crack rocks And stray shots, all on the block that stays hot Leave it up to me while I be livin' proof To kick the truth to the young black youth But shorty's runnin' wild, smokin' sess, drinkin' beer And ain't tryin' to hear what I'm kickin' in his ear Neglected for now, but yo, it gots to be accepted That what? That life is hectic

Finally, we get to Method Man, who provides a solid hook that helps tie together the whole theme of the song: that money is what controls everybody's desires in life. Everything is rooted within the dollar bill. The beat also gives an idea of a grim reality, and the video does well showing that, conveying an image of poverty. If you want to see the music video, the link will be down below.


I give this song a 5/5. It's a great piece, and it stays on topic of the song. This song is about one's pursuit of financial stability, and it achieves that through the verses, hook, beat, and video. I would highly recommend this piece to someone who has never heard of the Wu-Tang Clan.


So, if you like this, comment below and share with your friends. This is RBPlayer, signing off! Until next time!




12 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
COntact us

Success! Message received.

  • Grey Twitter Icon
  • Grey Instagram Icon
  • Grey Facebook Icon

© 2023 by The New Frontier. Proudly created with Wix.com

bottom of page