top of page
  • Writer's pictureRBPlayer

DAY69 - 6ix9ine

(Well, it's come to this...)


So, 6ix9ine. He is a rapper who originates from Brooklyn, and associates himself with the Bloods. He is a "rapper" who has apparently existed since 2012, and rose to fame as a MEME.

This guy became famous because of his appearance. Nothing else. He didn't spit a hot freestyle. He put out one song, "Gummo", and it SUCKED. His screaming-at-the-top-of-his-lungs style just does not work. It's loud for no excessive reason. On top of that, it NEVER changes. Every song he has, the style is the same. It never changes, and it does not help him stand out.


However, I'm willing to look past that. In fact, I will be reviewing his entire album, DAY69,

and see how that goes.


Let's start with the album cover.


This thing looks like something straight out of Adventure Time. However, I can appreciate that. Since it's different, it at least presents the idea that it's gonna be different. But then, we get to the music.


And it disappoints. It literally matches the checklist of most rap songs.


Killing someone?


These niggas say they heard of me, I ain't heard of you Get the fuck up out my fuckin' face, 'fore I murder you Bitch niggas always jackin' blood, but I know they fu Whole squad full of fuckin' killers, I'm a killer too (Billy)
Whip that black .44 boy, shoot you through your cross, boy Leave you in a hole, boy, you gon' get exposed, boy Pull up with the Glocks out, red dots out Pull them mops out and the chops out, niggas air it out Goin' all out when we back out that's a blackout Shooters all go, they don't clock out That's–that's a man down, when we rain down We don't play around, you get laid down (93)

Check.


Taking your girl? (Specifically YOUR girl?)



Check.


Drugs? (Either selling or doing them?)


'Less you tryna fuck my clique, 'less you tryna stack this brick 'Less you got shit I can sniff, 'less you got shit I can taste I might come up off my waist, get the fuck up out my face (Buba)


Check.


How much money they have?


In the spot, blow 50 bands, shit, 100 bands Shit, my pockets on a runnin' man, fuck a rubberband (Kooda)

Check.


Honestly, what can I say with this album? His style (yelling over a loud beat) is a bore. I can see the initial interest, what with the album cover, as well as the first song, "BILLY", but after you listen to "GUMMO", it gets tiring, so that when you get to the last song, "CHOCOLATE", you'll be hoping for this album to be over.


The other thing that should work for it, but doesn't, is the length of this project. Like, this album has a total run time of 29:48. Compared to the average run time of about 45 minutes, it's so much shorter. I'm not saying that his album should be longer. What I am saying is that this album could have been good with an even shorter run time. Had he put more effort into some of these songs, he could have had a better project. I mean, it didn't seem to impact him too much, as he peaked at #4 for the US Rap Billboard, and also being certified gold by the RIAA. He also had a single that went platinum on this very same album (Gummo).


Overall, I give it a 1/5. It's pretty bad, but I've heard worse. I appreciate its initial attraction, but after that, the style gets old after a while. Sadly, with 6ix9ine, it got old VERY quickly. But, people still like hearing his music, so that's them.


Well, that's all for today, my fellow rap lovers. On to the next. Until next time, this is RBPlayer, signing off!

19 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
COntact us

Success! Message received.

  • Grey Twitter Icon
  • Grey Instagram Icon
  • Grey Facebook Icon

© 2023 by The New Frontier. Proudly created with Wix.com

bottom of page